R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > Alternative Tuning / W.A.R / Megasquirt / etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2019, 08:45 AM   #1
Traviair
Noobie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 7
1987 325is turbo build with MS ECU starting problem!

I have an 87 325is with a bolt on turbo kit. I have a mega squirt with a base tune for it and when I go to start the car I have spark from the coil to the cap. Nothing after the cap. I have replaced the plugs, plug wires, coil, cap/rotor, CPS sensor. In not sure why I can't get spark after the cap but even with everything replaced I get nothing. Does any one have any idea what this could be?
Traviair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 10:28 AM   #2
nando
Moderator
 
nando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: bellingham, wa
Posts: 33,765
missing or damaged rotor? bad aftermarket parts? the 'key' to the rotor mount is off?
__________________
Build thread

Bimmerlabs
nando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 10:48 AM   #3
Traviair
Noobie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 7
If all the parts are new is there any other possible options? I'll look into getting fresh parts again but both rotors seem fine. What's the rotor key?
Traviair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 10:57 AM   #4
nando
Moderator
 
nando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: bellingham, wa
Posts: 33,765
it's the part that the rotor bolts to. It's keyed to the camshaft sprocket, so technically you can only put it on one way. Except, you can actually put it on wrong (I know because I've done it) which will damage the rotor.
__________________
Build thread

Bimmerlabs
nando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 11:27 AM   #5
Traviair
Noobie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 7
I'll look into that when I'm back at it today but I bolted back the way I took it off. Hopefully that's it.
Traviair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 11:27 AM   #6
Traviair
Noobie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 7
How did you end up bolting in on wrong?
Traviair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 01:57 PM   #7
nando
Moderator
 
nando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: bellingham, wa
Posts: 33,765
easy. I thought I had it lined up. It turned out I had a used one with a dent in it, so it 'felt' like it keyed in the correct spot, but it was actually 180 degrees off. Also it ruined the new $80 cap and rotor I had just put in..
__________________
Build thread

Bimmerlabs
nando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 09:35 PM   #8
Yuri
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 53
I have a new cap and rotor laying around Iím not going to use if you want it for like $20 plus shipping. It has 500 miles on it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC