R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > 24V Engine Swaps > M54 & S54

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2018, 03:52 PM   #151
R3Z3N
R3VLimited
 
R3Z3N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,650
CEL is triggered via CAN, so you need to wire up the CAN adapter.
R3Z3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 07:03 PM   #152
Staszek
E30 Mastermind
 
Staszek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 1,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by R3Z3N View Post
CEL is triggered via CAN, so you need to wire up the CAN adapter.
Thanks!
Staszek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 12:04 AM   #153
R3Z3N
R3VLimited
 
R3Z3N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,650
For future reference on the Gen 1 board here is a complete wiring so that the DME controls the aux fan fully based on Temp, A/C pressure, Speed etc:\


Last edited by R3Z3N; 02-11-2019 at 07:59 PM.
R3Z3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 12:49 AM   #154
R3Z3N
R3VLimited
 
R3Z3N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,650
And for Gen 2:

R3Z3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 12:23 PM   #155
Andrew325is
E30 Modder
 
Andrew325is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland, Ore.
Posts: 987
I sold one of Garry's CAN controllers to someone who hasn't been able to get the A/C compressor to turn on. He says he has everything connected properly and Garry has even replaced the CAN controller for him and it's still not working for him. He says he's receiving the following error: "DME signal error CAN bus instrument cluster"

I'm not sure exactly how the controller functions. I just do the wiring and offer the controller as a courtesy with my harnesses. Does anyone have any ideas as to what the issue could be? His car is a 1999 M3 with an M54 swap.
Andrew325is is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 01:26 PM   #156
gpeterson
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew325is View Post
He says he's receiving the following error: "DME signal error CAN bus instrument cluster"
That error doesn't mean anything other than his swap flash didn't suppress it. The CAN board doesn't emulate all cluster messages because it doesn't need to and some need a partial VIN.

He is in touch with me to sort things out.
gpeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 08:10 PM   #157
R3Z3N
R3VLimited
 
R3Z3N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew325is View Post
... He says he's receiving the following error: "DME signal error CAN bus instrument cluster"...
FYI, the files I gave you have a subcategory in the DTC XDFs for DTCs to suppress, so that you can do that with your EWS delete. I am willing to walk through the usage with you remotely.
R3Z3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 07:30 AM   #158
gpeterson
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by R3Z3N View Post
FYI, the files I gave you have a subcategory in the DTC XDFs for DTCs to suppress, so that you can do that with your EWS delete. I am willing to walk through the usage with you remotely.
Did you intend to quote someone else? I didn't do his swap flash.
gpeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC