R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > M20

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2019, 12:43 AM   #1
Robo90
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dublin ireland
Posts: 13
Crank speed sensor or distributor wire?

Hi all, i have been rebuilding the head on my m20. Its all done now but has taken some time to do and i have forgotten which wire/plug goes where. Does anyone know which plug is the correct location in the pic i have below please? One of the wires is attached to the distributor cap and the other one is the crank speed sensor. Thanks

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Robo90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 11:51 AM   #2
doctorx
Noobie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo90 View Post
Hi all, i have been rebuilding the head on my m20. Its all done now but has taken some time to do and i have forgotten which wire/plug goes where. Does anyone know which plug is the correct location in the pic i have below please? One of the wires is attached to the distributor cap and the other one is the crank speed sensor. Thanks

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
I just went through this. One is the crank sensor and at least on the early e30 (mine is 06/87), the other goes to the sensor wire on spark plug wire 6. The closest one in the picture looks like the crank sensor connector. The farther one looks to be the other. You didnt say which e30 this was, so i did the best i could.
doctorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 02:17 PM   #3
Robo90
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dublin ireland
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorx View Post
I just went through this. One is the crank sensor and at least on the early e30 (mine is 06/87), the other goes to the sensor wire on spark plug wire 6. The closest one in the picture looks like the crank sensor connector. The farther one looks to be the other. You didnt say which e30 this was, so i did the best i could.
Apologies, mine is an 89 320i. I think i will try that. Wondering what would happen if i got them wrong. Thanks for your input

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Robo90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 05:17 PM   #4
jeffnhiscars
R3V Elite
 
jeffnhiscars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Officially Tampa
Posts: 5,672
If they are reversed it just won't start so you switch them. It's happened to lots of us without damage
__________________
Deck Lid and soft top Shocks on hand

Seat shocks on hand for immediate shipment
https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...86#post4944786
Alice the Time Capsule
http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=360504
87 Zinno Cabrio barn find 98k and still smells like a barn. Build thread http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/show...20#post3455220
jeffnhiscars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 06:03 PM   #5
venerated
Member
 
venerated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Southern California
Posts: 49
I had mine switched and the car didn’t start so it’s easy to know. :P
__________________
Instagram

E46 2003 325xi Sedan Jet Black/Natural Brown Leather
E30 1989 325i Vert Bronzitbeige Metallic/Natural
venerated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 06:53 PM   #6
Robo90
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dublin ireland
Posts: 13
Thanks all of you for your help. Will give it a go. Just wanted to make sure i didnt wreck anything. Cheers

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Robo90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 03:37 AM   #7
r-mm
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: CT
Posts: 147
Im just behind you working on my 89 325i - did you sort this out?
r-mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 05:53 AM   #8
Robo90
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dublin ireland
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by r-mm View Post
Im just behind you working on my 89 325i - did you sort this out?
I have it all connected up but i havnt started it yet. Will be doing this weekend so will let you know how it goes

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Robo90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:31 AM   #9
r-mm
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: CT
Posts: 147
I started my car with the plugs installed as shown. Because the plugs are handed a picture is all you need (note which direction wire leaves forward part of sender) but the crank position sensor is driver side, #6 plug wire sender pass side.
Name:  IMG_5836.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  97.3 KBName:  IMG_5837.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  110.9 KB
r-mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 04:03 PM   #10
Robo90
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dublin ireland
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by r-mm View Post
I started my car with the plugs installed as shown. Because the plugs are handed a picture is all you need (note which direction wire leaves forward part of sender) but the crank position sensor is driver side, #6 plug wire sender pass side.
Attachment 127499Attachment 127500
I get you. I think i have it right now. Thanks for your help.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Robo90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC