R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > M20

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2019, 08:22 PM   #1
usualdeviant
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 103
Motronic 1.1 to 1.3

Everyone says any Motronic 1.3 DME will work just fine in a car that came with a Motronic 1.1 DME.


One time I read that only applies if the car is 9/87+. My car is 4/87. Any time I put in a 1.3 DME, I lose power at 5500 RPM. Also I get a code for a vehicle speed sensor signal. Those 2 things happened with my 0 261 200 524. Then I also have a 0 261 200 153 that has a scratched mark that says 173 so I'm not really sure which one that is. That one did not have the speed signal code, but did have the same power loss at 5500 RPM.


So anyway, I think the 153 is crap (being as old as it is) and I think Programa sent me a fresh rebuild that is also crap. So I really just want to throw a genuine 173 in and get my car to stop bucking randomly. Does anyone know for a fact if one will do the trick?
usualdeviant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 09:06 PM   #2
usualdeviant
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 103
OK so I took a shower and thought hey I know what to look for now in order to tell the difference between a 1.1 and a 1.3 on the inside. So I took it apart and yes, the DME marked 153 (but also scratched 173) is a 1.3. So it looks like I can only use a 153? Or could I get a newer harness?
usualdeviant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC