R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > Regional Forums > Gatherings & Regional Discussion > Pacific Northwest

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2013, 05:33 PM   #31
Jparkr
HR Admin
 
Jparkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Washington
Posts: 3,492
Send a message via AIM to Jparkr Send a message via Yahoo to Jparkr
Blue colored one is 2 pin for the DME
Brown colored one is 1 pin for the instrument cluster
Jparkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 07:03 PM   #32
Savagefurai
E30 Modder
 
Savagefurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by EN318isPDX View Post
No, one drives the gauge and the other talks to the ECU..

IIRC sender = ECU and sensor = gauge

okay, so from what have gathered, the one I want is the two pin sensor and not the single pin sensor.
Correct?




Quote:
Originally Posted by Balleristic31 View Post
What brand distributor cap did you get? What brand rotor?
Stealership brand. Ugh.


Sent from my SCH-I800 using Tapatalk 2
__________________

Currently without an e30. Will probably die soon.
Savagefurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 07:05 PM   #33
Savagefurai
E30 Modder
 
Savagefurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jparkr View Post
Blue colored one is 2 pin for the DME
Brown colored one is 1 pin for the instrument cluster
Cool. Just picked it up and about to throw it in after some cheap pizza.

Will let yall know how it goes.

Sent from my SCH-I800 using Tapatalk 2
__________________

Currently without an e30. Will probably die soon.
Savagefurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 07:58 PM   #34
Savagefurai
E30 Modder
 
Savagefurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 967
So I put in the sensor and it hasn't changed a damn thing.
Starts a little hard, runs fine when cold.
Pulls hard with no problems till it warms to temp. Then starts with the stuttering and lurching.
Ugh.
On to the next thing...

Sent from my SCH-I800 using Tapatalk 2
__________________

Currently without an e30. Will probably die soon.
Savagefurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 08:03 PM   #35
LJ851
R3V OG
 
LJ851's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: atlanta
Posts: 7,868
What brand is your new CPS?
__________________
Lorin


Quote:
Originally Posted by slammin.e28
The M30 is God's engine.
LJ851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 08:09 PM   #36
Tom.
Advanced Member
 
Tom.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tucson
Posts: 121
I just replaced my less than one month old Facet brand CPS with an OEM one and all my issues were solved.
So, like I'm sure the gentleman above is getting at.. OEM or nothing as far as CPS goes.
Tom. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 08:25 PM   #37
Savagefurai
E30 Modder
 
Savagefurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 967
I am actually using the OEM bosch unit.

Sent from my SCH-I800 using Tapatalk 2
__________________

Currently without an e30. Will probably die soon.
Savagefurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 08:26 PM   #38
IRON-E
I waste 90% of my day here and all I got was this stupid title
 
IRON-E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, Cali
Posts: 16,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJ851 View Post
What brand is your new CPS?
+1

Paging JLevie
__________________
@IRON-E30 aka Edwin
IRON-E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 08:30 PM   #39
mrcheezle19
E30 Fanatic
 
mrcheezle19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turf1600 View Post
Your problem will be solved by buying a new car. Please send me $1.
Beat me to it.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by blunttech View Post
Dude this is r3v. 20 bucks gets you a used timing belt or a low mileage head gasket
mrcheezle19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 11:31 PM   #40
Savagefurai
E30 Modder
 
Savagefurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcheezle19 View Post
Beat me to it.
Haha. No.

Way too broke for that. Plus, I have put too much onto this heap to give up now.

Sent from my SCH-I800 using Tapatalk 2
__________________

Currently without an e30. Will probably die soon.
Savagefurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 11:42 PM   #41
Ryann
No R3VLimiter
 
Ryann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: So. OR
Posts: 3,346
Symptoms point to a vacuum leak or an AFM issue. Does your MPG needle wig out or CEL illuminate momentarily during the stuttering? I'd also inspect your vibration damper.
__________________
Ryann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 12:40 PM   #42
Savagefurai
E30 Modder
 
Savagefurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryann View Post
Symptoms point to a vacuum leak or an AFM issue. Does your MPG needle wig out or CEL illuminate momentarily during the stuttering? I'd also inspect your vibration damper.
Yeah, I am grabbing plug wires and a coil just to be sure and a smoke test is in the future as well.
I can't tell if the gauges wig out or not because of the #10 fuse issue.
Once I fix that I will let you know about the cel.
What points you towards the vibration damper?
__________________

Currently without an e30. Will probably die soon.
Savagefurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:15 PM   #43
QUKBMER
R3V OG
 
QUKBMER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lake Elsinore/SOCAL
Posts: 8,176
Sounds like its time to dump the m20 2.7 for an 24v swap or atleast an m20 2.5 swap bro. Send me $1 please..PM me for paypal thank you.
__________________
Your signature picture has been removed since it contained the Photobucket "upgrade your account" image.

garage queen 91 bmw 325is / 1972 Chevy El Camino 355 sbc 450hp
QUKBMER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:34 PM   #44
Jparkr
HR Admin
 
Jparkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Washington
Posts: 3,492
Send a message via AIM to Jparkr Send a message via Yahoo to Jparkr
Have you done a compression test with the engine hot?

We had a pro3 car with a cracked head, ran great cold... it was mixing coolant but If you had a bad crack that wasn't around a coolant passage it could start making shit go bonkers.

It is hard to try and diagnosis shit on R3V you have a list of what you have done, but no way for us to know you didn't screw up something obvious as you have gone.
Jparkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 10:22 PM   #45
BigBillions
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: beaverton ,oregon
Posts: 123
car issues

hay did you ever get it figured out? its a air leak some were, if not my opinion to check is the afm for leaks actually take it out and do a really good check for pin size holes in the metal part under the afm (its caulked with clear caulking), and the inside of the opening for leaks, the next would be the brake boost lines were they connect to throttle body(both sides of throttle body), shouldn't have to say it but rubber elbow, and the evap hose under the throttle body, also worth checking is the fuel injector seals for leaking, also just to make sure you don't have a leaking head gasket check oil for coolant or a compression test.
BigBillions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC