R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > 24V Engine Swaps > M50/52 & S50/52

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2019, 08:26 PM   #1
svn2002s
Grease Monkey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 380
Throttle body coolant line (S52)

After installing the temp switch on the side of the head, what do you do with the port in the throttle body? Plug it? What about the other one?
svn2002s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 05:45 AM   #2
Northern
No R3VLimiter
 
Northern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 3,140
On my swap, I cut the feed line from the coolant pipe like 0.5" from the base, crushed it flat, and welded it closed.

The TB ports can just stay open. I don't think there's any way it could cause issues.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by priapism View Post
My girl don't know shit, but she bakes a mean cupcake.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shameson View Post
Usually it's best not to know how much money you have into your e30
Northern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 07:52 AM   #3
bradmer
Wrencher
 
bradmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by svn2002s View Post
After installing the temp switch on the side of the head, what do you do with the port in the throttle body? Plug it? What about the other one?
Since you are in California, you will need the throttle body coolant lines operational to pass bar for street use.
bradmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 06:29 PM   #4
eternal24k
Grease Monkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: VT
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmer View Post
Since you are in California, you will need the throttle body coolant lines operational to pass bar for street use.
why would they care? OP, you could always have a fake line going to the TB
eternal24k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 07:47 AM   #5
bradmer
Wrencher
 
bradmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternal24k View Post
why would they care? OP, you could always have a fake line going to the TB
They care, I was told the reason is that the throttle can get stuck wide open in freezing temperatures. I originally went with no TB lines due to having only 2 ports in the head but got called on it. I have since put a T in the line, easy to do and compliant.
Good luck OP
bradmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC