R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Appearance & Cosmetic > Lighting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-15-2019, 07:45 PM   #1
spyder918
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 47
LEDs..will they throw an error code?

I'm looking to possibly install some LEDs in the license plate and reverse lights. Does anyone know if this will throw any error codes?
spyder918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 07:55 PM   #2
reelizmpro
R3V OG
 
reelizmpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LA-SoCal
Posts: 8,699
yes, the check control relays need to see some resistance. For the plate lights, I ignored the check light but then discovered that one of the LED's was in fact completely out and the other was blinking. That's why I removed mine and went back to new filament bulbs. The look wasn't worth it to me. You can run them in the reverse lights as they are not checked.
__________________
"I'd probably take the E30 M3 in this case just because I love that little car, and how tanky that inline 6 is." - thecj

85 323i M TECH 1 S52 - ALPINEWEISS/SCHWARZE
88 M3 - LACHSSILBER/SCHWARZE
89 M3 - ALPINEWEISS II/M TECH CLOTH-ALCANTARA
91 M TECHNIC TURBO - MACAOBLAU/M TECH CLOTH-LEATHER
reelizmpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 09:41 AM   #3
doctorx
Noobie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 31
i run leds, but can only in a few areas. To me it is a safety thing since incandescent rear bulbs are not that bright. I was able to run them in turn, reverse, and 3rd taillight with a resistor. All corner markers are led. The front turns are switchback leds. Headlights are leds, but required resistors to work correctly and not piss off the check computer. They are in proper projector housings. Fogs are leds for now, but may switch those out for something else. Interior bulbs are all led except for low fuel and temp bulbs. I had to put incandescents back in the license plate bulbs. Would not work with leds even with canbus resistor types.
doctorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 02:46 PM   #4
mach schnell
E30 Modder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CO
Posts: 899
LED’s are so much brighter than incandescent bulbs, I love how bright they are in my E30. But the check control error is annoying. I wish someone would make up an E30-specific set of LED’s with resistors.
mach schnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 02:56 PM   #5
e30davie
E30 Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,190
I just unplugged the check control computer thing....no error on the dash
e30davie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 01:09 PM   #6
PDXPeter
Wrencher
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30davie View Post
I just unplugged the check control computer thing....no error on the dash
Thats my plan...

You can also get a solid state relay for the turn signals so they don't hyperflash.
PDXPeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 07:40 AM   #7
RCBFL
Noobie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: FL
Posts: 4
LED's work on exterior lights except for license plate lights which sometimes turn on the check light. I'll probably remove mine.
__________________
Member BMW Classic Car Club
Member Ferrari Drivers Group Sarasota
Member Porsche Club of America
RCBFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 02:35 AM   #8
spyder918
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30davie View Post
I just unplugged the check control computer thing....no error on the dash
Quote:
Originally Posted by PDXPeter View Post
Thats my plan...

You can also get a solid state relay for the turn signals so they don't hyperflash.
How do you unplug it?
spyder918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 01:20 PM   #9
AndrewBird
The Mad Scientist
 
AndrewBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 11,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder918 View Post
How do you unplug it?
Pull the check panel down and unplug the connector.

They are talking about this:
__________________
AndrewBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 06:24 AM   #10
spyder918
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewBird View Post
Pull the check panel down and unplug the connector.

Thank you!
spyder918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC